How to undo if you clicked “Don’t Trust” on iPhone/iPad by accident

Apple’s iOS 7 has a feature that requires you to authenticate or marks as trusted, the computer to which your device is connected to. While the option to Trust or Don’t Trust can be a helpful for security reasons, it has also created issues for many users. Whenever you connect your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch to a computer, the Trust/Don’t Trust dialog will appear to give you the option to establish or not a connection between you iOS device and the computer. In order to sync and allow data transfer between the two of them, you would need to select Trust. If you happen to tap on Don’t Trust, you will not be able to transfer data or sync the iOS device, as iTunes will not recognize it.

The problem is that it is easy to make a mistake when the Trust/Don’t Trust dialog box appears and you may end up tapping Don’t Trust, which would prevent you from syncing your iPhone/iPad with iTunes. If you didn’t mean to select Don’t Trust and you are now looking for a way to undo this mistake in order to be able to sync with iTunes, there are a few things that you can try.

The most simple solution that you can try and that could work in many cases, is to unplug the device, wait for a few minutes and then connect it again to the computer. This should make the authentication dialog box to appear again, meaning that you will get another chance to tap in the right option. However, this does not always work and you may need to try for a different approach to solve the problem. Using the below options could fix things for you.
Once you tap on Don’t Trust, it is not possible to undo it if your iPhone/iPad is still connected to the computer and iTunes is running. What you can do is to try to reset the dialog warnings in iTunes.

These are the steps to try this solution.
1. Disconnect your iOS device from the computer
2. Go to iTunes on your computer, then click Edit, followed by Preferences
3. Click on the Advanced tab, then on the Reset Warnings button and close iTunes
4. Connect your iPhone or iPad back to the computer. If the Trust/Don’t Trust dialog appears, tap in Trust. This time, iTunes will be able to access your iPhone.

If the above method does not work, you have another alternative to solve the issue caused when you have chosen Don’t Trust by accident. Following these instructions, can also help you to fix the incident.
1. Disconnect the device from the computer
2. On the computer, exit iTunes
3. Go to Settings in your iOS device, then General, followed by Reset
4. Reset all settings. Do not worry, this will not remove the data or apps. It simply clears cache and resets Wi-Fi passwords, so you may need to enter them again.
5. Open again iTunes on your computer and connect the device. You can also switch off the iPhone and then connect it to the computer, prompting the dialog box to appear again. This will allow you to select Trust.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply