The success of WhatsApp is undeniable. The messaging app has become extremely popular and many people have made it their main way to chat with their friends and family. Even though it has not replaced SMS texts and traditional calls yet, it had gained a lot of attention and the majority of mobile phone users prefer it thanks to the free/ low cost it offers – the first year is free and after that you would pay just $0.99 per year – and its great features.
Not only you can send text messages to other WhatsApp users without incurring in additional charges, you can also share videos, photos and audio notes. WhatsApp is widely used and chances are that many of your friends and family prefer to contact you through this messaging platform. Just like in any other messaging tool, there may also be other people that would try to talk to you via WhatsApp and that you would rather avoid. That is why, you have the option to block contacts in this app. We will show you how to stop someone from messaging you in WhatsApp.
1. Open WhatsApp and tap on Setting in menu
2. Select Privacy. Tap on the Blocked option
3. Tap on “Add New” to block an specific contact
4. Select the contact that you wish to block. To add more people to the list of blocked contacts, simply repeat steps 3 and 4.
Once you have blocked someone on WhatsApp, they will not be able to send you any message. However, they would still be able to find out when was the last time you used WhatsApp, as they will see the note with details about the last time you have seen a message. They would also notice that the messages they try to send don’t get marked as sent and delivered, as it usually happens when you use WhatsApp. This means that they would probably know that you have blocked them. If you were only blocking someone temporarily and wish to restore them to your usual contacts, you can follow the below steps.
1. Go to Settings, then Privacy and select Blocked to access the list of contacts that have been blocked
2. Swipe on the contact and you will see the Unblock option
3. To remove a contact from the Blocked list, tap on Unblock. After this, they will be able to send you messages again.